The Ocean Hyway Cluster (OHC) became Arena in November 2018 as a prolongation and confirmation of the remarkable hydrogen initiative developed by the Maritime Assosiation Sogn og Fjordane in recent years. Building on the same organization OHC enjoys the advantage of both continuity and valuable skills in cluster collaboration practices.

The sharing of knowledge about markets, players and technology has given cluster participants new insights, and the recognition of that collaboration across sectors and businesses is a powerful way of breaking down barriers and to stimulating innovation. With its natural resources, climatic conditions and innovative business, the West Coast of Norway is a logical start out for a hydrogen cluster to exploit the commercial opportunities of new hydrogen technology solutions.


The administration


Stein Kvalsund


Mobile: +47 976 98 785


Sigmund Frøyen

Project Manager, Head of Finance & Risk

Mobile: +47 920 45 505


Trond Strømgren

Head of R&D
Mobile: +47 402 98 729

Kristin Svardal

Head of BD & Comm
Mobile: +47 905 12 728


Maria Brandsøy

Head of Global Markets & ED
Mobile: +47 905 23 543


The Board

Anstein Aa, Technical Manager Brødrene Aa

Deon Mortensen, Technical and QHSE Director, Fjord 1

Johannes Rauboti, CEO SFE

Erling Holden, Professor in renewable Energy, Western Norway University of Applied Sciences, Faculty of Engineering and Sciences

Owe Hagesæther, CEO GCE Subsea

Per Sandberg, Senior Advisor Future Value Chains Equinor

Anders Valland, Research Manager Sintef Oceans AS